What a Jolly Good Day

Had to remain downtown all day since I had to teach a class and to take a class. So I had to eat lunch there.

Same last week, but I tried a Chinese place and it was abominable. Absolutely the worst. So I went with more caution and found the very first restaurant we had been to in Bogota over a year ago.

Best arroz con pollo I’ve had ever. Wonderful, perfect, with pineapple juice and noodle soup with a lot of potatoes in it.

Then I found the Brahms Quintets (2 String, Clarinet and Piano). Have been geeking for these for a long, long time. It was going to clean out my wallet (29,000 COPs) and I almost walked out, but they offered the descuentico. 10%, so I was left with something and the Brahms—and I approve the members of the Berlin Philharmonic Octet, though there is room one day for a better rendition.

And Katrina spent the afternoon learning how to cook Colombian. They have a soup/meal they like here in Bogota and elsewhere called ajiaco. It has potatoes and corn on the cob and other things in the soup part. The flavor is peculiar. It comes with rice and avocado on the side, and maybe platano sometimes. I have been eating it because I’m curious why they like it so much. I had not been able to discern what the big deal was.

It turned out very wonderful. I am now a fan. Marcela knows how to make ajiaco and now Katrina does too. And the rice, plain rice, was exceptional. It was perfect.

I had rice for all three meals today, and I ate two big meals and it was great. And Brahms!

What a jolly good day.

4 thoughts on “What a Jolly Good Day

  1. Sounds like a very good day. It is maybe not on par with the Brahms Quintet that you saw, but Jessica and I went to a Sacred harp practice yesterday. We really liked that. We also ate some real Indian food. Have you tried it? I don’t know if there is much of an Indian presence in Bogota, but it was a good change of pace for us. I especially liked the fellow in behind the glass who was doing the cooking over the clay pot. He was in his traditionally clothing and had an amazingly full black beard that came down to his chest. While he was waiting for a a piece of bread to get done in the pot he would stare at us, wide eyed and unashamed, full in the face without blinking, neither smiling nor scowling. Gave me the creeps. But it actually enhanced the experience!

  2. We haven’t tried Indian food. I’ve only ever eaten Indian food in Ireland.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the Sacred Harp. It never struck me as something I would like myself.

  3. The Indian food is different. I thought we were ordering meals, each one of us, like you do at every restaurant to which I’ve ever been. But you order the saucy meat/potato mixtures which are served in their own dishes. The rice comes unlimitedly in its own dish just like the bread (kind of like a pancake, only much better). It is all served family style and you dish it up yourself. So I think you could pay the 10.95 for one of the meat sauces and still feed 3 people on that. Everything tasted similar to something I’ve had before, but better or different (because of the spices they use and because they are not ashamed to fry something thick in butter).

Leave a comment