What’s Today? A Chatty Post

Today I studied and prevailed a bit. I’m still working on getting organized, and I think it is working. It pleases me, you know? It doesn’t make for conversation, but it pleases me.

* * *
Today it was foggy most of the day, which is wonderful. If it is foggy, it is chilly; if it is sunny, it is too warm. This city is just better all around if there is a bit of alternation between fog and sun, the former prevailing. I’ve worn a sweater all day long, I slept in and I’m staying up late, I meant to read and I have not. After days like this, its hard to go back to work, but one knows there are always cancellations to look forward too.

* * *
Had a big lunch today. We have a fancy place near us. Strange how that works here. Fancy, you know: they set the silverware on the tables around the space where the plate ends up, there is a little space between the tables, they serve your drink in a glass and even give you an ice cube, individually wrapped straws, cloth napkins. It is a fish place and it was Friday and it was lent. Went with the meat.

Fancy, remember? Nice chicken soup with noodles and potatoes and cilantro, nice salad, nice plain rice, nice huge salted potato, nice big piece of meat. But it was fancy, which means the hot sauce (aji) was out of this world. And the lemonade was very strong.

Nice atmosphere and not so expensive. Almost felt like ordering coffee. We’ll no doubt go back, when we need more atmosphere, quiet, and a simple but reliable menu.

* * *
And then it rained. Nice to go out afterward and see some of the mountain fog, to smell the rugged and romantic pines after the rain. When it rains, this city is transformed.

The land has been so dry. Yesterday Zipaquira out to the north was dry, but coming back along the north highway I saw the witchery of willows all a tender green, and the white flowering trees. In the misty park today with all the pines there were the yellow flowering trees as well, and the bright trees with glossy two-toned leaves.

* * *
I have two stories started. I was hoping to finish one but then I started dreaming about my name of the cover of a book, and it turned into a nightmare.

Leave a comment