The End of March

Can it be? Is Trump waning?

I can’t see the Cruz presiding ever. Can you? He’s only an interesting candidate because he’s now the anti-Trump. Otherwise he stands for the usual shallow clichés of Republicans about government. I can’t see him winning it, but I don’t think it makes a difference. I don’t even care if Bernie Sanders wins, at this point, though I do think life would be more interesting if we got Trump. If Trump is the candidate, though, I think I really will register to vote. It would be AWESOME to have voted for Trump.

It has been good for my semester that the campaign has shifted into quieter gear. I’m heartily weary of Benjamin Whichcote. He was so very uninteresting. Not at all like James Hogg who knew how to be interesting. I still hold out hope for Whichcote, though, but it is tough going.

One of the mistakes I’ve made was in writing a book review on the assumption that it ought to be interesting. Academic publications know nothing of interesting, and if it comes their way, at least my attempts at it, they try to eradicate it without identifying it. I’ve had two conversations in which people try to put their finger on what bothers them about what I write and they say ‘colloquialisms’. When pressed, the colloquialisms are no longer evident. One conversation resolved into ‘conversational’, a term I suggested and was seized on. The problem is, you see, they want information with the illusion of objectivity. People who read book reviews do not want to bother with enjoying what is written, they want to get through it as quickly as possible. Even less do they want a sense of the person doing the review, as you would if you were having a conversation.

Ah John Lukacs, who will tell these dreary academics that knowing is personal and participatory? They have not heard–have only read secondary literature on Plato, or searched without reading him–that truth is born in conversation. The Victorians were wiser, with their intrusive narrators. These modern academics think facts are the objects of knowledge and will never admit to any knowing that is beyond words.

It reminds me that I just got done reading Hodge on the Trinity, and he has some absolutely silly things to say. John Owen is really a jewel, both in his time and in Reformed theology in general, it turns out. He had sense and learning and consideration, for all that he did not know how to avoid being laborious. Right now I’m rating him above Calvin, certainly above Hodge. Hodge believed that in the ancient church the controversies went on at a level beyond any that would trouble the average believer. As if the controversy were not carried out among pastors and teachers who were communicating to their churches. As if Arius were not writing sea shanties that taught the average dockworker in Alexandria heretical beliefs. As if doctrine did not concern the common believer interested in interpreting the Bible. But for Hodge formulation is not important, it is just the arrangement of the plain facts, and the plain facts are stated in Scripture. He was very brisk on the Biblical proof of the doctrine!

That is the academic life of too many, Hodgie’s and the book reviewers. A dreary business far removed from learning. It is why I look to politics to make my life interesting, to Donald Trump. Don’t quit on me now, Trumpie.

Do you know something else, these people at Westminster believe that an epistemological commitment is the same as an understanding of epistemology. They believe they can know what is in Scripture and because of that, they don’t need to understand how they know; that is at least what I begin to suspect. I bring it up because Hodgie essentially guts the ut intelligam out of credo ut intelligam. For him that part is over, who needs more than credo anyway? And so it seems to be here, as part of the dark ideology of presuppositionalism, a closed triumphal system of theological inbreeding designed to eradicate all the questions that shape the quest of humane learning, with an overdeveloped nose for Barthianism.

And Trump seems to be waning. We live in dark, evil days, it seems.

Leave a Reply

