Library Emotions

There are a few volumes of Dickens in the WTS library, who knows why. Among them I espied this morning the third of the library’s copies of Weingreen’s Hebrew Grammar, a book I know right well, but far from home. What does one think? Surprise at first. Don’t I know that book? But, this is Dicken’s stuff, my eye was hastening elsewhere. Why, it’s old Weingreen! Some idle fellow hath sequestered it here. That, I ween, is hardly licit. Ah, the unscrupulous religious student.

I ought to write a catalogue of library emotions. Elation, joy, surprise, wonder, disgust, and so on. Yet how does one describe the feeling, for example, of finding the complete works of Thomas Traherne?

Leave a Reply

