Top Tier

When the headmaster of Veritas Academy told me that the students could all recite Lukacs’ definition of history I thought he was perhaps exaggerating. When I showed some of them the book I’m reading they immediately recognized the name and proceeded spontaneously to recite the very definition in chorus.

Lukacs’ mind is no insignificant mind. His thinking is careful and deep and wide. His reflections on what history is and what historians have to do bear deep pondering, and I mean to ponder them as much as I can. He takes some understanding, but he has written enough books. If you persevere in reading them, you begin to get the picture; and the more I read him, the better he gets.

Leave a Reply

