River

When I paint, I don’t plan. I never get anything worth keeping intentionally. But what I got below I liked. The sky is ok, the mountains are good, and the trees are interesting.

In process

It is kind of blurry because it can’t sit on the scanner being still attached to a cardboard with tape. What it needs, after consideration, is a river coming out of it. I have seen so many of these promising starts with the white part full of possibilities that are then just ruined. I haven’t dared yet to put the river and the rest in, but I’m practicing. Here’s the practice:

River

Good sky, though it scans poorly, bad trees and bad mountains, but good river. If only I could replicate the river, I’d be set. But the second river was bad. It has to curve properly, is the thing. I have to practice that curve now. Two undulations on the right, and starting from behind the trees, and a leftward widening.

What I do end up with a lot of is headers for my blog, like this:

Yearning

Leave a Reply

