Desire?

Well, it is looking more and more like I’ll be free of the office of a bishop. The thing my spiritual authority is wrestling with at the moment is: if I don’t honestly desire it, how can I do it? How will I last at it or even do it well if I don’t personally want to?

I have tried it with a good will. I have a good conscience about the effort and willingness, as much as a sense of responsibility will give me. But true, heartfelt desire to minister to these people in this way? None. Not for lack of trying, but I honestly believe God has not put it there. I do not desire the office (not that I agree with those who make it a requirement, but I’m not going to stand in the way of my spiritual authority not asking me to do what I don’t want).

What do I desire? Still to be a writer of Science Fiction. But at this stage of the game, I probably need to get some kind of career and stick to it, you know? I think I’ll become a computer programmer if I go back to the USA, and live by that responsibility. How hard can it be to program computers? And on the desk a pad of paper, like in the old days.

It is curious that I began all this because a pastor thought I wasn’t really dedicated to my job. But if you can’t do what you want, how hard can you go after what you do with a mere sense of responsibility? I am not interested in making money.

So if you can’t do what you want, you have to do what you can. So that when you can, you do what you want.

Leave a Reply

