Roadblock!

Well, we are going to put off the decision of the congregation of whether or not it seems good to them and the Holy Spirit to make me a pastor in our church here. It turns out they’re not so congregationalistic as I, and I am rather less presbyterianalistic than they.

You know, I feel sick to my stomach sometimes thinking of ending up as a pastor. I do not want the responsibility and it feels like all the good things in life would be left behind–being carefree and not moiling with the hard core religious types which do not, as a general rule, read anything they can’t find in a seminary library or care. I have the feeling I’m more of the court jester type, you know? I just want to go back to the Shire.

May God in his mercy make me a Science Fiction writer soon and put admirable men of quality in the office of a bishop wherever they are needed.

Leave a Reply

