In the Night

Haven’t had a rainy evening in a while. So I put on the Bach Christmas Oratorio for a bit, and by Jove it feels like Christmas.

I miss the cold awfully. It comes back to me in flashes: steam in the city, the sense of desolation, the wind about one, the smugness of a warm apartment with many amenities.

Cold nights those of December there. Cold nights and massive buildings scattered over the uneven land with its broad highways. It reminds me I haven’t driven a car in over two years.

I remember entering buildings, the sudden smell of coffee after winter out of doors and mottled faces. Here you are always more or less outdoors and it doesn’t matter. There the windows sealed, the doors shut all the way.

I paint a lot with Phthalo blue here, remembering.

Leave a Reply

